Happy Teacher’s Day!!

Happy Teachers Day to all the wonderful teachers specially to those who dedicated their lives for the upliftment and betterment of the Education System, Who spent all their energies to build a better India and World a better place to live in.

Rightly said by our Prime Minister Narendra Modi in an email message on Teachers Day- “Teaching is not just another profession. It is a divine responsibility to guide and enlighten,”

In India, teachers day is celebrated on the birthday of the second president of India, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan. He was a noted philosopher and teacher, and also received the British knighthood.

Radhakrishnan was awarded several high awards during his life, including the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India, in 1954, and honorary membership of the British Royal Order of Merit in 1963. Radhakrishnan believed that “teachers should be the best minds in the country”.

Radhakrishnan was also a great writer. He was the first of many philosophers who brought Indian philosophy to the forefront. He was a very popular teacher and well-loved by his students. It was his students who requested his permission to celebrate his birthday on the 5th of September. Instead, he chose to let every teacher celebrate the day. And since then, his birthday has been observed as Teacher’s Day. It was first celebrated in 1962.

teachers-day-images

Today through this blog, I would like to thank two wonderful teachers Ms Neelkamal ‘my Sanskrit teacher’ in 9th and 10th class and Mr. Ishan Zaidi ‘Voice & Accent Trainer in HCL.

Neelkamal Mam: It’s not only the subject that she taught us wonderfully but she also helped us to understand how simplicity and honesty may touch anybody’s heart. I always fell for her calm and composed nature, the way she used to teach us and correct our mistakes with a genuine smile. She used to bring a lot of positivity and enthusiasm in the classroom. We used to feel like free birds who can share their ideas and imaginations in an open environment without fear of getting scolded and punished as we knew that there is somebody to listen to our voices and acknowledge our effort.

Mr. Ishan Zaidi: I just can’t let this day pass without wishing my voice and accent trainer, a person who changed my life forever, who made me the kind of communicator I’m today. I was a girl from a Govt school who started learning English from Class 6th only however never got the kind of guidance which you gave me. Every time somebody praises me for my communication skills, ‘I thank you’ but never let you know how thankful I am.

So today I’m taking this opportunity to thank you for the way you taught us the right way to communicate in English, thank you for bringing out the best in me, thank you to correct my pronunciation every time with a genuine smile and thank you very much for all your encouragement.

I dedicate this day to both of my lovely teachers.

Stay thankful, Stay Blessed!

Kanchan Chadha

 

References

http://www.indiaparenting.com/indian-culture/70_3359/teachers-day.html

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Encourage-students-to-think-about-nation-PM-Narendra-Modi-tells-teachers/articleshow/41761096.cms

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarvepalli_Radhakrishnan

http://www.indiaparenting.com/indian-culture/70_3359/teachers-day.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

